5 Best Dignam (Wahlberg) Quotes from The Departed

Image

MARTIN SCORSESE’s crime thriller The Departed won four Oscars and many more accolades when it hit our screens in 2006. WILLIAM MONAHAN wrote the script (for which he won Best Adapted Screenplay), and in doing so penned some of the sharpest, most stinging repartee of modern cinema. Much of the quality banter came from Det. Sgt. Dignam – a character-based stroke of genius – delivered with comedic perfection by the brilliant MARK WAHLBERG (he got an Oscar nod too).
Here are 5 of my favourite classic Dignam cusses…

1

Sullivan (Damon) tries to enter Queenan’s (Sheen’s) office, but Dignam (Mark Wahlberg) blocks his way…

Colin Sullivan: Problem?
Dignam: Yeah, I got a problem. I run rat fucks like you, okay? I don’t like ’em.
Colin Sullivan: The day you wouldn’t take a promotion, let me know. And if you’d taken care of this, I wouldn’t even be here.
Dignam:  Fuck yourself, you piece of shit.
Colin Sullivan: And I’m gonna need the identity of your undercovers.
Dignam: Blow me, all right? But not literally, though. Unfortunately, there’s no promotion involved for you.

Screen Shot 2013-10-28 at 15.50.11

2

Dignam: This is unbelievable. Who put the fuckin’ cameras in this place?
Police Camera TechWho the fuck are you?
Dignam: I’m the guy who does his job. You must be the other guy.

3

Dignam: My theory on Feds is that they’re like mushrooms, feed ’em shit and keep ’em in the dark.

4

Lazio: Do you have anyone in with Costello presently?
Dignam: Maybe. Maybe not. Maybe fuck yourself.

5

Colin Sullivan: I don’t give a fuck what you think! Captain, I’ve got reason to believe that Queenan got killed by his own fucking undercover.
Dignam: That’s a fucking lie.
Colin Sullivan: [pointing to Dignam] He has fucking information in a locked file, as did Captain Queenan. I need access to those files.
Dignam: Hey, I forgot the password, but if you’d like to come down to the garage with me, I’d be happy to give it to you.

Got any favourite Dignam quotes? Share them!

Leave a Reply

