5 best Jennifer Lawrence lines in American Hustle

Image

This girl is something. We know that already, not least because she’s been nominated for her third Academy Award and she’s only 23. Yes, we’re talking Jennifer Lawrence – the girl who’s about as hot in Hollywood as an actress can ever hope to get, and she’s only just getting going.

In David O. Russell’s American Hustle (nominated for 10 Oscars, including Best Original Screenplay), the quirky and natural Jennifer Lawrence plays Rosalyn Rosenfeld, the zany wife of Christian Bale‘s Irving Rosenfeld – and, of course, dominates every scene she’s in. She doesn’t even have all that much screen time, but it’s that incredible, palpable presence – not to mention her genius comedy turns – that got her a Best Supporting nod from the Academy.

Here are her 5 most memorable lines in the film…

1    “I knew it. I have always said, Irving, that you are very, very hard to motivate properly. And I knew that Pete was gonna go over there and knock some sense into you. I’ve been reading this book, Irving. It’s by Wayne Dyer, about the power of intention… And my intention in sending Pete over to you was so that you could come up with this plan. So, you’re welcome.”

2   “Bring something into this house that’s gonna take all the nutrition out of our food and then light our house on fire? Thank God for me.”

3   ” You know that I could take Danny. You know that most of your work is illegal. And you know that if you tried to divorce me, you know that– I’m not saying that I would, but I’m saying that I could. And I’m saying that that is why I don’t like divorce, Irving. Women do that in divorces. Women get the children, and then the fathers never see them. My mother never got divorced. My grandmother never got divorced. There are NO divorces in my family. I am not getting a divorce.”

4   “Life is ridiculous and I would never say anything bad about your father in front of you but your father is a sick son of a bitch. DANNY:  Daddy’s a sick son of a bitch?  ROSALYN: Don’t repeat that. But yes.”

5   “The car is a little dinged up and I’m a little stiff but I don’t want to talk about it.”

Leave a Reply

